Growing Long, Luscious Locks: The Right Way to Care for Your Hair

When it comes to hair care, I know a thing or two about a thing or two. I have had long hair most of my life, except for that terrible boy-short haircut my mother forced on me when I was in the 3rd grade (truth be told, I will probably never recover from that experience, if I’m being honest) and so I have learned through trial and error what works and what doesn’t. Some things work better than others. Some things will actually surprise you. Some of the things we do on a daily basis are causing our hair undue stress and can leave your hair looking and feeling unhealthy. Today I would like to provide you with some tips and tricks for growing your hair long and beautiful, as well as some basic hair care tips that I’ve mastered to get long, beautiful, healthy hair like you see in my pictures.

2.jpg
I don’t always flat iron my hair, but when I do….this is what it looks like.

 

So, what exactly does it take to grow long, beautiful, thick hair like mine? Well, a combination of things – but it really isn’t all that difficult to attain. Below are some of the ways I keep my hair in tip top shape – and hopefully, I can help at least one of you have better, more beautiful hair!

Nix The Dye

Hair dye will strip your hair of all of the natural oils it produces, and render your strands weak and breakable. Undoubtedly, breakage will ensue. Hair fallout is also another major issue with dyeing your hair, because your hair will appear thinner in appearance. Bald patches are also a liklihood due to chemical burns from the hair dye. Lastly, and this is the most scary point of all – some people have been shown to be allergic to hair dye, and have had their throats close on them, suffocating before they could receive medical treatment. Treat your hair right and avoid hair dye. Sure, it’s fun to change your hair up and colors are a fun addition to your look – but try to implement these things in other ways rather than subjecting your tresses to undue and irreparable damage. I haven’t dyed my hair in the past 6 years, and it’s in the best shape it’s ever been in!

Don’t Overwash & Choose Sulfate/Pthalate Free

Overwashing your hair is one of the main ways to dehydrate the strands, lead to breakage, remove excess natural oils in the hair which are beneficial to shine and growth, and damage the hair by causing fallout. Personally, I only wash my hair one time per week, unless I am using styling products such as mousse or hairspray, in which case I will wash it one extra time.

When it comes to choosing a shampoo and conditioner, please opt for one that is free of Sulfates and Pthalates. These harmful and harsh chemical additives can strip the hair further, causing more damage. Also, they’re just plain not good for your body.

Deep Conditioning Treatment

You can make your very own deep conditioning hot oil treatment at home with ingredients you likely already have in your kitchen or bathroom. I found some great recipes for hair conditioners here, but I was already using a couple of them every week anyway. Olive oil and coconut oil can be used once a week alone or mixed together, heated up, and applied via massage to the scalp to stimulate the hair follicles and provide the hair with beautiful shine.

Stimulate the Hair Follicles

As mentioned above, stimulating the hair follicles is imperative to hair growth. Many people actually go about this in the wrong way. You can stimulate the hair follicles through soft scalp massage with rosemary oil and coconut oil mixed, or peppermint oil and olive oil mixed, or just dry. You can also do this when you shampoo your hair in the shower.

Go All Natural

Let your hair be what it is! Try wearing it in it’s natural state. Rock that head of curls, pin straight hair, or waves. Be comfortable in your own body and in your own skin. Everyone’s hair is different. And just remember, someone out there is envious of your hair, while you envy someone else’s!

Here are a few pics of my hair in different states. My natural hairstyle believe it or not is the curls in pictures 2 and 3.

Skip the Trim

If you want your hair to grow, common sense tells us that we need to let it grow and not cut it. So why, then, does your hair stylist recommend those constant trims? Trims are great to remove dead ends, but it certainly does not promote growth like they would have you believe. Growth promotes growth. You need to leave your hair alone and just let it do it’s thing. I don’t ever trim my hair, and haven’t since I actually cut it a year ago.

Throw Your Brush Away

16234-DEFAULT-l.jpg

You read that right. Toss it. Brushes cause more damage than most of these things combined. Rather than brush your hair, use your fingers with some conditioner in the shower and work your fingers through your hair. If you have exceptionally tangly hair, invest in a detangler spray or use some coconut oil throughout your hair and work out any knots you encounter. I never brush my hair. In fact, the last time I did was probably 3 years ago!

Skip the Heat Tools

Heat tools can cause crazy amounts of damage to your strands. Also, choosing the proper type of heating tools for your hair type is of the utmost importance, if you are going to use heat styling tools. These types of tools consist of curling irons, flat irons, blow dryers, crimpers, and more. I do flat iron my hair once every week and occasionally blow dry my hair as well, but the tools I have and use are appropriate for my thick, long hair. I use a ceramide flat iron and a ceramic blow dryer, which keeps my hair safe in the event I do use those tools.

Protect Your Hair

Last but certainly not least, protecting your hair is key. If you live in a place where it’s sunny all the time, don’t leave the house without spraying on some SPF for your hair. Yes, that’s a thing and it’s utterly important. I always spritz some on my hair before I leave for the day to keep it in the best condition it can be in without damage. Also, when you do choose to heat style, use products specifically meant for heat styling to prevent your hair from heat damage.

These are just some of the things you can do to grow longer, thicker hair quicker. It’s not necessarily terribly difficult to grow long, beautiful hair, but it can be a bit time consuming. Having patience is key. If you are doing all or even some of the things I mentioned above, you’re on the road to beautiful, silky hair and will arrive to your final destination in no time.

 

 

 

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

