Summer Hairstyle Files: 2 Minute Headband Chignon for Chin Length Hair

2 Minute Headband Chignon

Today, I am going to be demonstrating how simple and easy the headband chignon truly is to achieve. One day this past week, I was thinking of a new way to fix my hair that I hadn’t yet tried before – and it hit me. The headband chignon became my mission, and I figured I would give the style a try and see if I loved it as much on me as I did on other people. I’m glad to say I totally love the style, and I will definitely be wearing it many more times this summer.

It’s the perfect go-to look if you might be having a bad hair day, or if you’re pressed for time and only have about 2 minutes to fix your hair and run out the door. This look is perfect for me, because it’s a style that could work well with straight or curly hair – and I do have naturally curly hair, yet flat iron my hair once or twice a week. On those days where I just don’t feel like flat ironing my hair, this is going to work beautifully. It also works fabulously on dirty hair – I should know, it had been about 4 days since I had washed my hair in this pic. Then again, I tend to have dry hair and only wash my hair 1-2 times per week to keep it shiny and healthy.

For those who don’t know what a chignon is, it is likened to a bun hairstyle, but it can come off as a bit softer and more elegant.

Let’s get started – I am going to give you a simple step-by-step instruction guide on how you can get the look.

Here’s how it’s done:

Step 1: First, you will need to tease the hair at the crown to give the back of the hair a bit of lift. This will give your style that extra ‘oomph’ we all crave. Be sure to smooth down the hair on top with a soft bristle brush before continuing.

Step 2: Place an elastic headband over your head as you normally would – except, don’t pull your hair through and over it as usual. Let the headband sit wrapped around your head, sort of like a crown, with your hair down below it, resting naturally on your shoulders.

Step 3: Separate the hair into two sections, as you would if you were going to create pigtails. From there, finagle each section downwards into a twist, and roll it upwards, tucking the ends of the hair into the bottom of the headband. Repeat the same for the other side of the hair.

Step 4: Using the tail end of a comb, pull a little bit of hair out of each twist to give it a messy effect, or leave it as is. I like the messy look, because I feel like the perfect imperfections really add to the style.

Pull a couple small strands down in the front section of the hair gently. You can also opt for leaving the tendrils out at the beginning before putting your headband on.

Spray the back of the style with your favorite hairspray, and go. It’s that simple! No bobby pins are required, and this style will last all day long. I have exceptionally thick hair, and I completed the entire look in 2 minutes, so you should be able to as well – especially if you have short or thin hair.

This style is meant for chin length hair, but anyone with chin length hair or longer can wear this hairstyle beautifully.

2 Minute Headband Chignon

I hope you’ve enjoyed my little step-by-step tutorial – if you try the look, I would love to hear your thoughts on it! Let me know what you think in a comment below.

2 thoughts on “Summer Hairstyle Files: 2 Minute Headband Chignon for Chin Length Hair

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

