1920’s Skin Care: Then and Now

l-41ia02xy5t8j22

So, I am working on some posts for the Lionesse brand this week on the 1920’s beauty, fashion, hair and skin care world. Tonight, I stumbled on an incredibly entertaining read from a magazine – an issue of McCalls Magazine, February 1920, to be exact – and I read it, laughing at a few different points throughout. The article was written by actress Suzanne Sheldon, and to my surprise, much of the article was extremely on point with what doctors and dermatologists recommend today, such as getting in plenty of exercise and eating a balanced diet, as well as drinking 6-8 glasses of water today (which, we all know now is extremely beneficial – but we should all be opting for 8-10, in truth) while much of it was completely laughable. My, how times have changed!

If you would like to take a look at the article yourself, you can click here to check it out. It’s pretty interesting if you have a few spare minutes of time! My favorite bits from the article were the part about cleansing the eyes – the thought of using boric acid in, on or around the eye area made me cringe, even though it has antibacterial properties and some opthamologists utilize the ingredients in prescriptions. I don’t know, the only acids I feel safe on or around my eyes or face would be AHA’s, personally – but that’s just me. My second favorite, and the most laughable, was the portion of the article talking about how to tame a double chin and using warm compresses and rubber bandages. Really?

In essence, I thought it was a lot of fun to read – and I’m an old school beauty magazine junkie, so this was a super cool find. What are your thoughts after reading it? Let me know in a comment below.

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

