Product Review: Revlon Photoready Makeup & Kate Moss Lasting Finish Lipcolor

Review of Revlon PhotoReady Makeup in Shell; and Kate Moss' Rimmel Lasting Finish in Rossetto
Review of Revlon PhotoReady Makeup in Shell; and Kate Moss’ Rimmel Lasting Finish Lip color in Rossetto

Today, I am doing a dual product review. I am excited to tell you all about my experience with these two products – both the good, and the bad.

First, we will begin with the foundation product.

Revlon Photo Ready Makeup in Shell

I bought this product on a ridiculous sale from the local Walgreens. Although I’m not exceptionally partial to drug store cosmetics, I had heard this product was a great one and provided even coverage and flawless skin. I figured it couldn’t hurt to give it a try since it was marked down to 50% off the regular price and I only paid $7.00 for it.

I gave the product a try after completing my normal cleansing and moisturizing routine. To my surprise, the texture was exceptionally thin and lightweight. I don’t mind the thinness most of the time, but to me, the product seemed like water. It was hard to get it to provide even coverage due to this. Now, I’m not sure if it has something to do with the fact that the product was on clearance – maybe it was wearing down to its last shelf life days – but it certainly wasn’t what I was hoping for or expecting. The product overall provided hardly any coverage, did nothing to help the blush I applied thereafter to stay put for the day, and did not essentially do its job.

I reapplied twice throughout the day – that’s something I don’t have to do with other makeup products – and still didn’t feel as though there was any coverage being applied. I suppose this product would work for a minimalist who likes to feel as though there is nothing there, and likes to look completely au natural – but in that case, you may just be better off in your natural skin. For me, this product was sub par, and I wasn’t happy with the results. I did use it with a primer at one point within the same day, and that had no bearing or effect on the product. It was ultimately a disappointment – but at the same time, what can you really expect to get out of a product that is A. sold at a drug store, and B. marked down on clearance?

I would advise you to buy with caution – there are far greater products on the market, and I would hate to see anyone throw money away on a product like this. I give this product 1/10 stars.

DSC03710

Kate Moss – Rimmel Lasting Finish Lip Color

The beautiful shade of this fabulous lipstick was what drew me to it. I am and always have been partial to deep, rich reds. It’s a color that wears nicely with my skin, and looks amazing, no matter the season. Again, I don’t typically spend money on drug store beauty products, however I do make exceptions when it comes to lipstick products.

This product was every bit as amazing as I had hoped it would be. With even coverage, fantastic blending capabilities, it’s ability to stay put for 8+ hours – even through drinking coffee, water, and eating throughout the day – and the semi-gloss look of the applied product really had me at ‘hello’. It was very true to color. The subtle scent of the product isn’t overbearing as with some drug store lipsticks, and actually wears better than any other Rimmel product I have tried in the past. I love the Kate Moss line, and will definitely be making quite a few purchases from that line in hopes every one of these colors will wear and feel just as fantastic. I am in love with this product. I definitely give it a 10/10.

Here’s a few photos of me in the lipstick – isn’t it gorgeous?

DSC03626_editsmallDSC03624

I will be back soon with another product review for you all. Stay tuned, subscribe, share, and follow!

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

